top of page
Original on Transparent.png

Robotics & AI

After reading a lot about the fact that there were already many NGO's dealing with the cleaning of the bays and the sea surface, we wanted to concentrate on other topics first. This is now several years ago. But the reports about garbage in the oceans kept increasing. Especially how many dolphins and whales die in agony each year. Unfortunately, the truth is that more and more plastic is being produced and used and then at some point it is carelessly disposed of again. A good part of it ends up in the sea, as is so often the case. And we're not just talking about ear sticks and plastic straws. Television sets, radios, stereo systems, kitchen appliances, vehicle interior fittings, etc. – of course, all of this already existed a few decades ago. But everything was made of metal and wood. But it's so much easier to make it all out of plastic. It saves costs and thus increases the profit margin. 

 

There are already a number of NGO's that deal with cleaning up beaches and the garbage that floats on the surface in the open ocean. So a few years ago we started to think of solutions for areas where nobody is active yet: the deep sea, inaccessible coastal regions and estuaries in Africa, Asia and Latin America. The focus is on high scalability. We are also happy to pass on our knowledge of the solutions if they prove to be successful. We only have one chance when we are many and more and more people, companies, organizations, sponsors and countries support us.

 

Many NGOs point out that only avoiding waste leads to the goal. That's right. When will we see a worldwide plastic ban? In 10, 20 or 50 years? Probably only when those responsible can no longer swim in the sea because of all the plastic. But then there is already a lot more plastic in the oceans than there is fish. And some plastic has a decomposition time of several hundred years. It would help a lot if new products such as SUPs (standup paddling) were recyclable - or even better - had to be taken back by the manufacturer for recycling. But none of this happens. And so it is to be feared that hundreds of thousands of these pieces of sports equipment will eventually end up in the sea because they are old and thrown away or simply left lying around. There is much to do. We would like to help with smart solutions that our planet will soon be better again. 

 

And so we focus on autonomous robots and drones, which search defined quadrants in the seas with AI-controlled software. The underwater equipment and project phases are scaled in such a way that we will start with the most productive regions first and then venture step by step to the deeper regions. This initially allows the use of simpler solutions, which also requires a smaller budget. And as long as we only live on our own funds, the possible uses are unfortunately still limited.

Satellite evaluation & CAD studies 

The world's oceans are huge - and probably no one will manage to remove all the garbage. And so we focus on the stretches of sea and coast, estuaries and deep-sea trenches, which contain the most garbage in relative terms. Especially in coastal areas, we also rely on pragmatic solutions to generate jobs for coastal residents in poorer countries.

Planning, construction, design and development precede the construction of a submarine or deep-sea robot. We have looked at a lot of material - especially after existing solutions: "You don't have to reinvent the wheel and you definitely save money that is needed elsewhere."

Designer: Bekeyei Gesy

On the left a satellite image (source: Spiegel.TV) of Henderson Island. The island is located in the Pacific Garbage Patch and is uninhabited. But our garbage still makes it to this island. In 2015 it was determined that 38 million pieces of plastic weighing 17.6 tons had already accumulated there.

RC Mini-Submarines 

When we started, we simply bolted the main submarine components together onto an aluminum frame. The purpose of the ocean football is to keep the net to be pulled for the plastic waste at a stable depth - similar to an elevator in buildings. Of course you could also use much larger nets, and these could certainly be pulled by old fishing boats or trawlers - but we are deliberately opting for a new development that is highly scalable and can also be pulled by smaller ships. Our networks, which we call Ocean Tube, are therefore rather narrow and elongated. This also prevents animals from being caught.  Both products, the Ocean Football and the Ocean Tube, will later be available as products in sizes XXS - XXL, so that every yacht owner can size can participate in fishing plastic and garbage out of the seas and lakes.

Another type of robot explores the seabed near the coast, initially down to a depth of 200 meters. We want to determine where exactly the brunt of the plastic is. We also try to track down sewers that dump industrial pollutants into the sea. We use robots that are available on the market and expand them. So we are currently developing a new remote control, with Virtual Reality Glasses (VR) . using a control device like that of game consoles so that you can control the robot as easily as possible. Another advantage is that you can experience the underwater world like a diver.

 

This results in a number of other fields of activity. A new version is currently being planned. Take a look at the following pictures and give us feedback on a possible model of an Ocean Explorers 2.0

Designer: Andrew EAV

In the pictures below is a design study of an Ocean Explorers 3.0 to see which was designed by Juan (source: Designer Juan de Santiago) and already comes very close to our ideas of a future generation of Ocean Explorers. This is optionally equipped with two robotic arms for additional purposes. The design for remote control systems (RC) comes from Max (Source: Designer Max Marharit). Similar to car construction, a model type is based on a large number of design studies and at least one model or prototype. Most of the time, the product going into series production looks completely different.

Designer juan-de-santiago-submarine-03.jpg

Designer: Juan de Santiago

Designer juan-de-santiago-submarine-02.jpg
Designer juan-de-santiago-submarine-01.jpg
Deigner_juan-de-santiago-submarine-03-wire.jpg
Designer_juan-de-santiago-submarine-02-wire.jpg
Deigner_juan-de-santiago-submarine-03-wire.jpg
Designer Max-Marharit-04.jpg

Designer: Max Marharit

Designer Max-Marharit-07.jpg
Designer Max-Marharit-02.jpg

Designer: Max Marharit

Designer Max-Marharit-05.jpg
Surfen im Sonnenuntergang

Self-piloting drones

There are already a number of suppliers of drones for surveying water quality and other characteristics on the market. We will therefore not develop our own drones, but rather build on what is already available. From our side, further measuring instruments or sensors are added. "Adaptors" are used to track marine pollution, for example from oil spills on the high seas. We will be happy to provide official bodies with further information on request. 

The three images below show an excellent example of a drone (AUV) used by the Norwegian University of Science and Technology. Manufacturer is Hydroid Inc. - a subsidiary of Kongsberg Maritime (REMUS (AUV) - Wikipedia).

Strand Sonnenuntergang
Source_AUV Remus_NTNU 01.png

AUV Remus - NTNU (Hydroid Inc.)

Source_AUV Remus_NTNU 02.png
Source_AUV Remus_NTNU 03.png

AI controlled robots with electric drive

Source_Designer_brian-clarke-sub-12.jpg
Source_Designer_brian-clarke-sub-11.jpg

Designer: Brian Clerke

Our Ocean Crawler is a completely independent robot, which is controlled by an AI unit.  This allows previously defined quadrants in the ocean to be searched much faster, since the robot learns the depths and extent of the most rubbish to be found is dependent on current and other factors. In this way, he only concentrates on a small part of the quadrant and can calculate which other quadrants are the most fruitful.

The pictures show a beautiful model by Brian Clarke with great attention to detail and an extremely powerful electric motor for heavy loads. Unfortunately it will not be built as a prototype. It has too much drag for long distances, which has a negative impact on range.

The newly planned Ocean Wing glider will be between 8 - 12 meters in length, have small delta wings and a double tail and is optionally equipped with a passenger cabin for two people. Similar to the well-known flying drones, we will install four horizontal rotors to enable quick changes of direction. The main drive will be particularly strong - possibly doubled and thus designed redundantly. The reason here is once again that we want to build highly professional devices that can also be used for other purposes. This is an important second pillar for us in the event that we cannot collect enough money from investors and private sponsors for the garbage disposal, which could mean that our project would quickly come to an end.

Source_Designer_brian-clarke-sub-05.jpg

Designer: Brian Clarke

Source_Designer_brian-clarke-sub-10.jpg
Source_Designer_brian-clarke-sub-02.jpg
Source_Designer_brian-clarke-sub-09.jpg
Source_Designer_brian-clarke-sub-04.jpg
Source_Designer_brian-clarke-sub-01.jpg
Source_Designer_brian-clarke-sub-03.jpg
Source_Designer_brian-clarke-sub-07.jpg
Source_Designer_brian-clarke-sub-08.jpg
Source_Designer_brian-clarke-sub-06.jpg

AI controlled robots with hydrogen drive

The Ocean Wing Glider under construction is our flagship and will be between 8 - 12 meters in length, have small delta wings and a double tail and is optionally equipped with a passenger cabin for two people.

 

Similar to the well-known flying drones, we will install two to four horizontal electric rotors - which are also optional depending on the area of application of the glider - in order to enable quick changes of direction. The main propulsion should be operated with hydrogen.

 

The concept should be modular for industrial production based on the Tesla model. The reason here is once again that we want to build highly professional devices that can also be used for other purposes.

 

This is an important second pillar for us in the event that we cannot collect enough money from investors and private donors for the garbage disposal, which could also mean the quick "end" of our THOR project.

Wing_Glider_Mantaray.16.jpg

hydrocopter

A hydrocopter is necessary to perform underwater maintenance. But also to carry out rescue operations for animals that may have become entangled in a drifting net. There is already a lot available on the market for this device. So we will probably only buy.

We would still like to show the beautiful model by designer Max Marharit. A number of parts could be 3D printed, making maintenance at sea much easier. 

Designer: Max Marharit

Wrack im Meer

Hyper-Scale Submarines & Deep Sea Bots

Deep Sea Bot

As of today, there is a large number of drawings and research on our Ocean Hoover. As soon as we have a first design, we will present it. The sheer size alone requires a budget that has to be earned first. But we will not give up!

The situation is different for our Deep Sea Bots. In principle we use existing technology. But all material has to withstand a pressure of several thousand meters of water column. And so we will probably approach the matter cautiously at first. The aim is to develop a research robot for the deepest parts of our oceans.

The dilemma with test drives is that in the event of problems, the robot is usually irretrievably lost. This is what happened with the deep-sea robot NEREUS (Image source Advanced Imaging and Visualization Lab Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution). And so we lost already several Ocean footballs and one Ocea explorer....

Source NEREUS Advanced Imaging and Visualization Lab Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution.

Source: deep-sea robot NEREUS

bottom of page

top of page
Original on Transparent.png

Unsere Robotics Unit

Bestimmte Produkte unserer Robotics Abteilung werden zukünftig in eine eigenständige Firma ausgegliedert. 

Wir verwenden neueste Roboter-Technik, oder erweitern existierende Technologie am Markt, und entwickeln mittlerweile unsere eigenen AI gesteuerten Roboter wie beispielsweise unseren neuen Unterwassergleiter, welcher mit Wasserstoff angetrieben sein wird

Robotics & KI

Nachdem wir viel darüber gelesen hatten, dass es bereits viele NGO’s gab, welche sich mit der Säuberung der Buchten und der Meeresoberfläche beschäftigen, wollten wir uns zunächst auf andere Themen konzentrieren. Dies ist nun bereits einige Jahre zurück. Aber die Meldungen über Müll in den Ozeanen nahmen trotzdem immer mehr zu. Vor allem, wie viele Delphine und Wale pro Jahr qualvoll verenden. Die Wahrheit ist leider, dass immer mehr Plastik produziert und verwendet wird und dies dann irgendwann wieder achtlos entsorgt wird. Ein guter Teil davon landet wie so oft im Meer. Und wir reden hier nicht nur von Ohrstäbchen und Strohhalmen aus Plastik. Fernsehgeräte, Radios, Stereoanlagen, Küchengeräte, Fahrzeuginneneinrichtungen, usw. – das alles gab es vor ein paar Jahrzehnten natürlich auch schon. Aber alles war aus Metall und Holz gefertigt. Es ist aber soviel einfacher, dies alles aus Plastik herzustellen. Es spart Kosten und erhöht damit die Gewinnmarge. 

 

Es gibt nun schon etliche NGO's, welche sich mit der Säuberung von Stränden und dem Müll beschäftigen, der im freien Ozean auf der Oberfläche treibt. Also haben wir vor ein paar Jahren begonnen, uns Lösungen auszudenken für Bereiche, an welchen noch niemand aktiv ist: Die Tiefsee, unzugängliche Küstenregionen und Flussmündungen in Afrika, Asien und Lateinamerika. Der Fokus dabei ist die hohe Skalierbarkeit. Wir geben unser Wissen der Lösungen auch gerne weiter, wenn diese sich als erfolgreich erweisen. Wir haben nur eine Chance, wenn wir viele sind und immer mehr und mehr Leute, Firmen, Organisationen, Sponsoren und Länder uns unterstützen.

 

Viele NGOs weisen darauf hin, das nur die Müllvermeidung zum Ziel führt. Das ist richtig. Nur wann werden wir einen weltweiten Plastikbann erleben? In 10, 20 oder 50 Jahren? Vermutlich erst dann, wenn die Verantwortlichen vor lauter Plastik selbst nicht mehr im Meer baden können. Nur ist dann bereits viel mehr Plastik in den Ozeanen als es Fische gibt. Und manches Plastik hat eine Zersetzungszeit von mehreren Hundert Jahren. Es wäre ja schon viel geholfen, wenn neue Produkte wie etwa SUP's (Standup Paddlling) recycelbar sind - oder noch besser - vom Hersteller zum Recyceln zurückgenommen werden müssen. Aber all dies passiert nicht. Und so ist zu fürchten, dass Hunderttausende dieser Sportgeräte auch irgendwann im Meer landen, weil alt und weggeworfen oder einfach nur liegen gelassen. Es gibt viel zu tun. Wir möchten mit smarten Lösungen dabei mithelfen, dass es unserem Planeten bald wieder besser geht. 

 

Und so fokussieren wir uns auf autonome Roboter und Drohnen, welche mit KI gesteuerter Software definierte Quadranten in den Meeren absuchen. Die Unterwassergeräte und Projektphasen sind dabei so skaliert, dass wir zunächst mit den ergiebigsten Regionen beginnen werden und uns dann Schritt für Schritt zu den tieferen Regionen vorwagen werden. Dies ermöglicht zunächst den Einsatz einfacherer Lösungen, was auch ein geringeres Budget erfordert. Und solange wir nur von Eigenmittel leben, sind die Einsatzmöglichkeiten leider noch begrenzt.

Satellitenauswertung & CAD Studien 

Die Weltmeere sind riesig - und wohl niemand wird es schaffen, allen Müll zu entfernen. Deshalb konzentrieren wir uns auf die Meeres- und Küstenabschnitte, Flussmündungen und Tiefseegräben, welche im Verhältnis den meisten Müll bergen. Gerade in küstennahen Gebieten setzen wir auch auf pragmatische Lösungen, um Jobs für Küstenbewohner ärmerer Länder zu generieren.

Vor dem Bau eines U-Bootes oder Tiefsee-Roboters steht die Planung, die Konstruktion, das Design und die Entwicklung. Wir haben dazu zahlreiches Material gesichtet - vor allem nach bereits existierenden Lösungen: "Man muss das Rad nicht neu erfinden und so spart man definitiv Geld, das an anderen Stellen nötiger gebraucht wird".

Designer: Bekeyei Gesy

Links eine Satellitenaufnahme (Source: Spiegel.TV) von Henderson Island. Die Insel liegt im Pazifischen Müllstrudel und ist unbewohnt. Aber unser Müll schafft es trotzdem auf diese Insel. Im Jahr 2015 wurde ermittelt, dass sich dort bereits 38 Millionen Plastikteile mit einem Gewicht von 17.6 Tonnen angesammelt haben.

RC Mini-UBoote 

Als wir vor ein paar Jahren begannen, haben wir einfach die wichtigsten U-Boot Komponenten auf einem Aluminium-Gestell zusammen geschraubt. Der Zweck des Ocean Football ist, dass zu ziehende Netz für den Plastikmüll in einer stabilen Tiefe zu halten - ähnlich eines Aufzugs in Gebäuden. Natürlich könnte man auch viel grössere Netze verwenden, und diese könnten von alten Fischerbooten oder Trawlern durchaus gezogen werden, - aber wir setzen bewusst auf eine Neuentwicklung, welche hoch skalierbar ist und auch von kleineren Schiffen gezogen werden kann. Unsere Netze, welche wir Ocean Tube nennen, sind somit eher schmal und länglich. Damit wird auch vermieden, dass Tiere eingefangen werden.  Beide Produkte, der Ocean Football und die Ocean Tube werde später als Produkte in den Grössen XXS - XXL verfügbar sein, so dass auch jeder Yacht-Besitzer jedweder Grösse daran partizipieren kann, Plastik und Müll aus den Meeren und Seen zu fischen, sofern es die Gesetzgebung im jeweiligen Küstenbereich erlaubt.

Ein anderer Roboter-Typ beschäftigt sich mit der Erkundung des Meeresbodens in Küstennähe bis zunächst 200 Meter Tiefe. Wir möchten feststellen, wo sich genau die Hauptlast des Plastiks befindet. Ebenso versuchen wir, Abwasserleitungen aufzuspüren, welche industrielle Schadstoffe im Meer entsorgen. Wir benutzen dazu am Markt verfügbare Roboter und erweitern diese. So entwickeln wir gerade eine neue Fernsteuerung, welche Virtual Reality Brillen (VR) und ein Bediengerät wie das von Spielkonsolen verwendet, damit man den Roboter so einfach wie möglich steuern kann. Ein weiterer Vorteil ist zudem, dass man die Unterwasserwelt wie ein Taucher erleben kann, was auch Menschen die Faszinationen der Unterwasserwelt näher bringt, welche nicht tauchen können oder wollen.

 

Hieraus ergeben sich eine Reihe von weiteren Betätigungsfeldern. Eine neue Version ist gerade in Planung. Seht Euch die nachfolgenden Bilder gerne einmal an und gebt uns Feedback zu einem möglichen Modell eines Ocean Explorers 2.0

Designer: Andrew EAV

Auf den unteren Bildern ist eine Design-Studie eines Ocean Explorers 3.0 zu sehen, welche von Juan (Quelle: Designer Juan de Santiago) entworfen wurde und unseren Vorstellungen einer zukünftigen Ocean Explorers Generation bereits sehr nahe kommt. Dieser ist optional mit zwei Roboter-Armen für weitere Verwendungszwecke ausgestattet. Das Design für Fernsteueranlagen (RC) kommt von Max (Quelle: Designer Max Marharit). Ähnlich wie beim Autobau, liegt einem Modelltyp eine Vielzahl von Design-Studien zugrunde sowie mindestens ein Modell bzw. Prototyp. Meistens sieht das in Serie gehende Produkt dann wieder ganz anders aus.

Designer juan-de-santiago-submarine-03.jpg

Designer: Juan de Santiago

Designer juan-de-santiago-submarine-02.jpg
Designer juan-de-santiago-submarine-01.jpg
Deigner_juan-de-santiago-submarine-03-wire.jpg
Designer_juan-de-santiago-submarine-02-wire.jpg
Deigner_juan-de-santiago-submarine-03-wire.jpg
Designer Max-Marharit-04.jpg

Designer: Max Marharit

Designer Max-Marharit-07.jpg
Designer Max-Marharit-02.jpg

Designer: Max Marharit

Designer Max-Marharit-05.jpg
Surfen im Sonnenuntergang

Selbststeuernde Drohnen

Es gibt bereits eine Vielzahl von Anbietern von Drohnen für die Untersuchung der Wasserqualität und anderer Merkmale auf dem Markt. Wir werden deshalb keine eigenen Drohnen entwickeln, sondern auf dem aufsetzen, was bereits verfügbar ist. Von unserer Seite kommen weitere Messinstrumente bzw. Messfühler hinzu. Für die Nachverfolgung der Meeresverschmutzung durch beispielsweise Ölverklappung auf hoher See kommen "Adaptoren" zum Einsatz. Nähere Informationen geben wir offiziellen Stellen gerne auf Nachfrage. 

Die 3 Bilder unten zeigen ein exzellentes Beispiel einer Drohne (AUV), welches von der Norwegischen Hochschule für Wissenschaft und Technologie eingesetzt wird. Hersteller ist Hydroid Inc. - eine Tochter von Kongsberg Maritime (REMUS (AUV) - Wikipedia).

Strand Sonnenuntergang
Source_AUV Remus_NTNU 01.png

AUV Remus - NTNU (Hydroid Inc.)

Source_AUV Remus_NTNU 02.png
Source_AUV Remus_NTNU 03.png

KI gesteuerte Roboter mit Elektro-Antrieb

Source_Designer_brian-clarke-sub-12.jpg
Source_Designer_brian-clarke-sub-11.jpg

Designer: Brian Clerke

Unser Ocean Crawler ist ein vollkommen selbständiger Roboter, welcher über eine KI Einheit gesteuert wird.  Dadurch lassen sich vorher definierte Quadranten im Ozean viel schneller absuchen, da der Roboter lernt, in welchen Tiefen und welchem Umfang der meiste Müll zu finden ist, abhängig von Strömung und anderen Faktoren. So konzentriert er sich nur auf einen kleinen Teil des Quadranten und kann errechnen, welche weiteren Quadranten am ergiebigsten sind.

Auf den Bildern sieht man ein wunderschönes Modell von Brian Clarke mit viel Liebe zum Detail und einem überaus starken Elektromotor für grosse Zuglasten. Leider wird es nicht als Prototyp gebaut werden. Es hat für lange Strecken zu viel Strömungswiderstand, was sich negativ auf die Reichweite auswirkt.

Source_Designer_brian-clarke-sub-05.jpg

Designer: Brian Clarke

Source_Designer_brian-clarke-sub-10.jpg
Source_Designer_brian-clarke-sub-02.jpg
Source_Designer_brian-clarke-sub-09.jpg
Source_Designer_brian-clarke-sub-04.jpg
Source_Designer_brian-clarke-sub-01.jpg
Source_Designer_brian-clarke-sub-03.jpg
Source_Designer_brian-clarke-sub-07.jpg
Source_Designer_brian-clarke-sub-08.jpg
Source_Designer_brian-clarke-sub-06.jpg

KI gesteuerte Roboter mit Wasserstoff-Antrieb

Der im Bau befindliche Ocean Wing Glider ist das  Flaggschiff von Nautilus 2.0 und wird zwischen 8 - 12 Meter Länge haben, kleine Delta-Flügel und ein Doppel-Leitwerk besitzen und ist optional mit einer Passagier-Kabine für zwei Personen ausgestattet. Im Bild ist eine Design-Studie gezeigt bzw. ein Erlkönig.

 

Wir werden ähnlich der bekannten Flugdrohnen zwei bis vier horizontale Elektro-Rotoren einbauen - welche je nach Einsatzgebiet des Gleiters ebenfalls optional sind - , um auch schnelle Richtungswechsel zu ermöglichen. Der Hauptantrieb soll mit Wasserstoff betrieben sein.

 

Das Konzept soll modular für industrielle Fertigung nach dem Vorbild der Automobil-Industrie sein. Der Grund ist hier einmal mehr, dass wir hochprofessionelle Geräte bauen wollen, welche auch anderen Verwendungen zugeführt werden können. Dies ist für uns ein wichtiges zweites Standbein für den Fall, dass wir nicht genügend Gelder von Investoren und privaten Geldgebern für die Müllbeseitigung einsammeln können, was auch das schnelle "Aus" unseres Projektes bedeuten könnte.

Wing_Glider_Mantaray.16.jpg

Hydrocopter

Ein Hydrocopter ist notwendig, um Wartungsarbeiten unter Wasser durchzuführen. Aber auch, um Rettungseinsätze für Tiere durchzuführen, welche sich in einem treibenden Netz verfangen haben könnten. Zu diesem Gerät gibt es schon einiges am Markt, was verfügbar ist. Vermutlich werden wir also nur zukaufen.

Wir möchten trotzdem das schöne Modell des Designers Max Marharit zeigen. Etliche Teile davon könnten mit einem 3D-Druck angefertigt werden, was die Wartung auf See deutlich erleichtert. 

Hydrocopter

Designer: Max Marharit

Wrack im Meer

Hyper-Scale Submarines & Deep Sea Bots

Deep Sea Bot

Stand heute gibt es eine Vielzahl von Zeichnungen und Recherchen zu unserem Ocean Hoover. Sobald wir ein erstes Design haben, werden wir es vorstellen. Alleine die schiere Grösse erfordert ein Budget, dass erst verdient werden muss. Aber wir geben nicht auf!

Anders sieht es bei unserem Deep Sea Bot aus. Im Prinzip verwenden wir bestehende Technologie. Aber alles Material muss einem Druck von mehreren Tausend Metern der Wassersäule standhalten. Und so werden wir uns wohl erst vorsichtig an die Materie herantasten. Ziel ist es, einen Forschungsroboter für die tiefsten Stellen unserer Ozeane zu entwickeln.

Das Dilemma bei Testfahrten ist, dass im Falle von Problemen der Roboter meist unwiederbringlich verloren ist. So geschehen beim Tiefseeroboter NEREUS (Bildquelle Advanced Imaging and Visualization Lab Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution)

Source NEREUS Advanced Imaging and Visualization Lab Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution.

Source: Tiefseeroboter NEREUS

bottom of page